Warning: Parameter 2 to qtranxf_postsFilter() expected to be a reference, value given in /home/gaelsco2/public_html/wp-includes/class-wp-hook.php on line 286
<br /> <b>Warning</b>: Use of undefined constant right - assumed 'right' (this will throw an Error in a future version of PHP) in <b>/home/gaelsco2/public_html/wp-content/themes/theme1908/header.php</b> on line <b>23</b><br /> School History | Gaelscoil Na Mi

School History

School History  2011 – 2016

Gaelscoil na Mí was established on the First of September 2011 with 36 children enrolled. Tricia Ní Mhaolagáin-Hosford was employed as principal & Fionnuala Nic Cábe as class teacher. The school opened in temporary accommodation on the grounds of Donaghmore Ashbourne GAA Club with temporary recognition from the Dept. of Education. The school is under the patronage of An Foras Pátrúnachta and has a multi-denominational ethos.

Over the years, the school has gone from strength to strength with additional teachers being hired every year and further accommodation required. In 2015 the sod was turned on the permanent site of the new school and the school is currently waiting to move into the new building which is due for completion on the 27/10/16.

[Further information on the school: In September 2010 with the support of a national campaign ‘Aitheantas’ Gaelscoil Ráth Tó opened in the village of Ratoath, Co Meath. 10 children started that day with Múinteoir Tricia Ní Mhaolagáin-Hosford. Throughout that year with the support of the schools patron An Foras Pátrúnachta a huge national effort was undertaken to gain recognition for the school due to the huge demand locally for Irish immersion education. However, despite the demand for the school, the Dept. of Education refused to grant recognition to the school but accepted an application from An Foras Patrúnachta to establish a new Gaelscoil in the nearly town of Ashbourne for the following year. The school remains to this day very grateful to all of the Gaelscoileanna, Irish organisations and parents that supported the school from its establishment in Ratoath in 2010 through to its move to Ashbourne.]